(845) 358-9126 | 8 S. Broadway | Nyack, New York 10960 | pickwickbooks@gmail.com | Open 7 Days a Week!
(845) 358-9126 | 8 S. Broadway | Nyack, New York 10960 | pickwickbooks@gmail.com | Open 7 Days a Week!
Cart 0
Miss Meteor
HarperTeen

Miss Meteor

Regular price $17.99 $17.99 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Miss Meteor
Author(s): Tehlor Kay Mejia, Anna-Marie McLemore

A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin’ and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

There hasn’t been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita Perez or Chicky Quintanilla in all its history.

But that’s not the only reason Lita wants to enter the contest, or her ex-best friend Chicky wants to help her. The road to becoming Miss Meteor isn’t about being perfect; it’s about sharing who you are with the world—and loving the parts of yourself no one else understands.

So to pull off the unlikeliest underdog story in pageant history, Lita and Chicky are going to have to forget the past and imagine a future where girls like them are more than enough—they are everything.



Review(s):
“Teaming these two YA powerhouse writers up on a super-fun, super-queer underdog story is brilliant! Readers will be rooting for the protagonists to win the Miss Meteor pageant the whole way through.”
"A love letter to the misfits who have been scared to let their stardust shine."
"McLemore and Mejia tell a warmly inclusive story rooted in the bonds of family and in female friendship. For anyone who's ever felt like an outsider, this joyful #OwnVoices tale will fill a void."
"This complex tale packs a lot into its space, and while the novel is sure to resonate with any kid who feels like an outcast and any reader who loved Murphy’s Dumplin’, it’s especially salient for those in the Latinx, queer, and economically disadvantaged communities."
"A genre-bending friendship story complete with aliens and beauty pageants...filled with humor and fresh dialogue."
“...Readers will be drawn into this story of an unlikely beauty queen."
“A unique and beautifully penned story, Miss Meteor belongs to the dreamers and the outsiders in this world who will find that they will always have a safe haven with the right people and that they can change the world, one beauty pageant at a time.” 
"A luminous romp of a book that is both hilarious and tender. Mejia and McLemore have gifted us with a story that celebrates the eternal power of friendship."
“A hilarious and heartfelt love letter in sparkling stardust prose to the outcasts who feel like they're from another planet.” 
“Some books you read with your heart—and this is one of them. Written with compassion, honesty, and humor, Miss Meteor is magical.”



ISBN:  9780062869913